Age discrimination

Know your rights under Minnesota laws prohibiting age discrimination

It is unlawful for an employer to:

- refuse to hire or employ a person on the basis of age;
- reduce in grade or position or demote a person on the basis of age;
- discharge or dismiss a person on the basis of age; or
- mandate retirement age if the employer has more than 20 employees [29 United States Code §630 (b)].

Employers terminating employees 65 or older because they can no longer meet job requirements must give 30 days notice of intention to terminate.

This poster contains only a summary of Minnesota law. For more information, contact the:

Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry

Phone: 651-284-5070

Minnesota Department of Human Rights
Phone: 651-539-1100



Employer-sponsored meetings

Employer-sponsored meetings or communication

An employer or the employer's agent, representative or designee must not discharge, discipline or otherwise penalize or threaten to discharge, discipline or otherwise penalize or take any adverse employment action against an employee:

- because the employee declines to attend or participate in an employer-sponsored meeting or declines to receive or listen to communications from the employer or the agent, representative or designee of the employer if the meeting or communication is to communicate the opinion of the employer about religious or political matters;
- 2. as a means of inducing an employee to attend or participate in meetings or receive or listen to communications described in number 1 above; or
- 3. because the employee, or a person acting on behalf of the employee, makes a good-faith report, orally or in writing, of a violation or a suspected violation of this section.

Remedies

An aggrieved employee may bring a civil action to enforce this section of the law no later than 90 days after the date of the alleged violation. The court may award all appropriate relief, including injunctive relief, reinstatement, back pay and reestablishment of any employee benefits, reasonable attorney fees and costs.

Scope

This section does not:

- prohibit communications of information the employer is required by law to communicate, but only to the extent of the lawful requirement;
- 2. limit the rights of an employer or its agent, representative or designee to conduct meetings involving religious or political matters as long as attendance is wholly voluntary or to engage in communications as long as receipt or listening is wholly voluntary; or
- 3. limit the rights of an employer or its agent, representative or designee from communicating to its employees any information, or requiring employee attendance at meetings and other events, that is necessary for the employees to perform their lawfully required job duties.

Summary

This law does not prohibit or regulate employer speech. The law regulates when an employer may discipline or fire an employee who declines to attend meetings about religious or political matters.

To review this law in full, including definitions, notice requirements and additional information about remedies, see Minnesota Statutes § 181.531. The Department of Labor and Industry does not enforce this law.

For more information about this law, contact an attorney.

October 2024



Minimum wage and other requirements

Minimum wage effective Jan. 1, 2025

\$11.13/hour

Training wage – May be paid to employees under the age of 20 during the first 90 consecutive days of employment.

\$9.08/hour



dli.mn.gov/minwage

OVERTIME

Overtime is the required payment of time-and-one-half an employee's regular rate of pay.

State-only covered	Federally covered employers
employers and employees	and employees
After 48 hours in a workweek	After 40 hours in a workweek

WAGE THEFT

Wage theft occurs when an employer fails to pay wages earned by its employees, including minimum wage, overtime or other required rates of pay.



dli.mn.gov/wagetheft

SICK AND SAFE TIME

Sick and safe time is paid leave employers must provide to employees in Minnesota that can be used for certain reasons, including when an employee is sick, to care for a sick family member or to seek assistance if an employee or their family member has experienced domestic abuse, sexual assault or stalking.



sickleave.mn.gov

An employee earns one hour of sick and safe time for every 30 hours worked and can earn a maximum of 48 hours each year unless the employer agrees to a higher amount.

RETALIATION PROHIBITED

An employer must not discharge, discipline, penalize, interfere with, threaten, restrain, coerce, or otherwise retaliate or discriminate against an employee for exercising their rights under the law, including reporting a violation or participating in an investigation.



dli.mn.gov/laborlaw

REPORT VIOLATIONS

To report violations of these and other labor laws, contact the Labor Standards Division at dli.laborstandards@state.mn.us or 651-284-5075.



Minimum wage posting required by law in a location where employees can easily see the posting.

Safety and health protection on the job

Employees

The Minnesota Occupational Safety and Health Act (the Act) requires that your employer provide you with a workplace free of known hazards that can cause death, injury or illness. You also have the following workplace rights and responsibilities.

- You must follow all Minnesota OSHA (MNOSHA) standards and your employer's safety rules.
- Your employer must provide you with information about any hazardous chemicals, harmful physical agents and infectious agents you are exposed to at work.
- You have the right to discuss your workplace safety and health concerns with your employer or with MNOSHA.
- You have the right to refuse to perform a job duty if you believe the task or equipment will place you at immediate risk of death or serious physical injury. However, you must do any other task your employer assigns you to do. You cannot simply leave the workplace.
- You have the right to be notified and comment if your employer requests any variance from MNOSHA standard requirements.
- You have the right to speak to a MNOSHA investigator inspecting your workplace.

- You have the right to file a complaint with MNOSHA about safety and health hazards and request that an inspection be conducted. MNOSHA will not reveal your name to the employer.
- You have the right to see all citations, penalties and abatement dates issued to your employer by MNOSHA.
- Your employer cannot discriminate against you for exercising any of your rights under the Act. However, your employer can discipline you for not following its safety and health rules. If you feel your employer has discriminated against you for exercising your rights under the Act, you have 30 days to file a complaint with MNOSHA.
- Your employer must provide you with any exposure and medical records it has about you upon request.
- You have the right to participate in the development of standards by MNOSHA.

Employers

You must provide your employees with a safe and healthful work environment free from any known hazards that can cause death, injury or illness and comply with all applicable MNOSHA standards. You also have the following rights and responsibilities.

- You must post a copy of this poster and other MNOSHA | You must allow MNOSHA investigators to conduct documents where other notices to employees are posted.
- You must report to MNOSHA within eight hours all accidents You must provide all necessary personal protective resulting in the death of an employee.
- You must report to MNOSHA within 24 hours all accidents resulting in any amputation, eye loss or inpatient hospitalization of any employee.
- inspections, interview employees and review records.
- equipment and training at your expense.
- You have the right to participate in the development of standards by MNOSHA.

Free safety and health assistance

Free assistance to identify and correct hazards is available to employers, without citation or penalty, through MNOSHA Workplace Safety Consultation at (651) 284-5060, 1-800-657-3776 or osha.consultation@state.mn.us.

Contact MNOSHA for a copy of the Act, for specific safety and health standards or to file a complaint about workplace hazards.

Employers, employees and members of the general public who wish to file a complaint regarding the MNOSHA program may write to the federal OSHA Region 5 office at: U.S. Department of Labor, Occupational Safety and Health Administration, Chicago Regional Office, 230 S. Dearborn Street, Room 3244, Chicago, IL 60604.



(651) 284-5050 • 1-877-470-6742 • osha.compliance@state.mn.us • www.dli.mn.gov

UNEMPLOYED?

Have you lost your job or had your work hours reduced?

You have the right to apply for Unemployment Insurance benefits.

Apply online at: www.uimn.org

or by telephone:

651-296-3644 (Twin Cities) or

toll free 1-877-898-9090 (Greater Minnesota)

TTY (for the deaf and hearing impaired) 1-866-814-1252

Workers' compensation

If you are injured

- Report any injury to your supervisor as soon as possible, no matter how minor it may appear. You may lose the right to workers' compensation benefits if you do not make a timely report of the injury to your employer. The time limit may be as short as 14 days.
- Provide your employer with as much information as possible about your injury.
- Get any necessary medical treatment as soon as possible.
 If you are not covered by a certified managed care organization (CMCO), you may treat with a doctor of your choice. Your employer must notify you in writing if you are covered by a CMCO.
- Cooperate with all requests for information concerning your claim.
 - The law allows the workers' compensation insurer to obtain medical information related to your work injury without your authorization, but they must send you written notification when they request the information.
 - The insurer cannot obtain other medical records unless you sign a written authorization.
 - Get written confirmation from your doctor about any authorization to be off work. The note should be as specific as possible.

Workers' compensation pays for

- Medical care for your work injury, as long as it is reasonable and necessary.
- Wage-loss benefits for part of your lost income.
- Compensation for permanent damage to or loss of function of a body part.
- Vocational rehabilitation services if you cannot return to your pre-injury job or to your pre-injury employer due to your work injury.
- Benefits to your spouse and/or dependents if you die as a result of a work injury.

What the insurer must do

- The insurer must investigate your claim promptly. If you have been disabled for more than three calendar-days, the insurer must begin payment of benefits or send you a denial of liability within 14 days after your employer knew you were off work or had lost wages because of your claimed injury.
- If the insurer accepts your claim for wage-loss benefits and you have been disabled for more than three calendar-days: The insurer will notify you and must start paying wage-loss benefits within the 14 days noted above. The insurer must pay benefits on time. Wage-loss benefits are paid at the same intervals as your work paychecks.
- If the insurer denies your claim for wage-loss benefits and you have been disabled for more than three calendar-days: The insurer will send notice to you within 14 days. The notice must clearly explain the facts and reasons why they believe your injury or illness did not result from your work or why the claimed wage-loss benefits are not related to your injury.

If you disagree with the denial, talk with the insurance claims adjuster who is handling your claim. If you are not satisfied and still disagree with the denial, call the Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry's Workers' Compensation Hotline at 1-800-342-5354.

Fraud

Collecting workers' compensation benefits you are not entitled to is theft. Call 1-888-372-8366 to report workers' compensation fraud. Insurer name and contact information



(651) 284-5032 • 1-800-342-5354 • dli.workcomp@state.mn.us • www.dli.mn.gov