
PAID APPLICATION FEE IS NOT REFUNDABLE 
CASH IS NOT ACCEPTED BY MAIL OR WALK-IN SPACE IN BOX FOR OFFICE USE ONLY 

SELECT THE LICENSE YOU ARE APPLYING FOR: Account # 632432 STK B42ELELIC

Class A Master Electrician    Power Limited Technician 
Class A Journeyworker Electrician Satellite System Installer 
Class B Installer 
Lineman 
Maintenance Electrician 

Check Number Amount Paid

PCK CCK MO DLI Deposit Date
NOTICE:  Pursuant to Minnesota Statute 
§ 604.113, checks returned for 
nonpayment will be charged a $30 
service charge and may subject the
issuer to additional civil penalties.Is this a license exam RETEST? 

YES NO
If YES, submit application 
form and fee only.  (No work 
verification is required)

PRINT IN INK OR TYPE
MAKE A COPY OF THIS APPLICATION FOR YOUR RECORD 

APPLICATION NUMBER:

Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry 
Construction Codes and Licensing Division 
Licensing and Certification Services / Electrical 
443 Lafayette Road North 
St. Paul, MN  55155 

E-mail:  DLI.Exam@state.mn.us
Website: www.dli.mn.gov
Phone: (651) 284-5034

Personal Electrical License 
Examination Application 

Application Fee = $50.00 

 
 
MAKE CHECK OR MONEY ORDER PAYABLE TO: 

MINNESOTA DEPARTMENT OF LABOR & INDUSTRY

ALL APPLICANTS MUST COMPLETE THE ATTACHED ELECTRICAL WORK EXPERIENCE VERIFICATION FORM 
(The only exceptions are:  a Satellite System Installer or an applicant who is retesting) 

LICENSED / REGISTERED 
(please provide a copy of your license / registration) 

MN Registered Unlicensed Individual 
Licensed in a state other than Minnesota 

EDUCATION (original transcript must be attached) 

Bachelor’s degree in electrical engineering 
(Master A Electrician & Power Limited Technician licenses only) 
State approved electrical education program 
Satellite System Installer Certificate issued by SBCA or 
other approved program 

The information you as an individual provide in this application will be used by Department of Labor & Industry staff members to determine if you meet 
the Department’s registration requirements.  Minnesota Statute § 270C.72, Subd. 4, requires you to provide your social security number on this 
application. The other information is being requested for purposes of processing your application. With the exception of your Social Security number, you 
are not legally required to supply the requested data on this application; however, failure to provide the requested information may delay the processing of 
your application or result in the denial of the same.  Except for your name and designated address, the information you provide on this application is 
private data while the application is pending.  Disclosure of this information to others may occur as authorized or required by law, including but not limited 
to the Attorney General’s Office, the Department of Revenue, the Department of Human Services, upon court order, and/or for the purpose of verification 
and investigation.  Once you are registered, the information you provide, other than your Social Security Number and non-designated address, becomes 
public data and may be released to anyone upon request. 

SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER DATE OF BIRTH (MM/DD/YY) AREA CODE & PHONE NUMBER E-MAIL ADDRESS 

LEGAL LAST NAME SUFFIX (JR, SR, II,III) LEGAL FIRST NAME LEGAL MIDDLE NAME 

RESIDENTIAL ADDRESS PUBLIC MAILING ADDRESS (if different from residential address) 

CITY NAME STATE ZIP CODE CITY NAME STATE ZIP CODE 

Is the residential address above a non- 
designated (private) address? Yes No If Yes, then you must provide a designated (Public) mailing address. 

APPLICANT SIGNATURE DATE SIGNED (MM/DD/YY) 

This material can be made available in different forms, such as large print, braille or on audio. 
Electrical Personal License Exam Application 6.20.2024
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Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry 
Construction Codes and Licensing Division  
443 Lafayette Road N. 
St. Paul, MN 55155

Phone: 651.284.5034 
Email: dli.exam@state.mn.us 
Website: www.dli.mn.gov Electrical

PRINT clearly IN INK OR TYPE Work Experience Verification FormMAKE A COPY OF THIS FORM FOR YOUR RECORDS 
Applicant’s Legal Name: License / Registration Number: (if applicable) SSN:  (Last 4 digits Only) 

License Type:
Class A Master Electrician Maintenance  Installer B 

Class A Journeyworker Electrician Lineman 

To apply for licensure and examination, the applicant must provide verification of their employment and qualifying work. Verification information required 
includes: name, address, and phone number of the employer, applicant's dates of employment with the employer, class of work performed; and hours 
worked. The information provided on this form is public data and shall be used to qualify the individual identified above for licensure and examination.
Individuals with multiple employers during the reporting period must make copies of the form and have each employer complete a separate
verification.
Employer Name License / Registration Number 

Employer Address Telephone 

City State Zip Email Address 

Name of Responsible Person (Master Electrician) License Number Title 

Qualifying work experience is measured on a monthly basis. In order to accurately verify qualifying experience, the actual hours worked 
in each Class of Work must be reported. Credit of not more than 160 hours per month or 2000 hours per year is allowed as qualifying 
experience. Hours reported on this form must be supported by records maintained by the employer and demonstrate experience 
qualifying with M.S. §326B.33 and M.S. Rule 3800.3520.  Knowingly providing inaccurate or fraudulent information may subject the 
violator to disciplinary action and a monetary penalty of up to $10,000 per violation. To obtain additional information regarding work 
experience please visit our website at http://www.dli.mn.gov/workers/electrician-or-electrical-installer/licensing-personal-electrical-license 

Complete a SEPARATE work experience form for each year of employment.
Date of Employment:
Start Date: End Date:

Are the hours reported on this form 
taken from payroll records? 

YES OTHER (specify) 

CLASS OF WORK For Office
Use Only

Hours Worked

WIRING FOR AND INSTALLING ELECTRICAL WIRING, APPARATUS AND EQUIPMENT 
30 

MAINTAINING AND REPAIRING ELECTRICAL WIRING, APPARATUS AND EQUIPMENT 
31 

WIRING AND MAINTAINING TECHNOLOGY CIRCUITS OR SYSTEMS 
33 

INSTALLING ELEVATORS 
34 

LINE WORK 
35 

WIRING AND MAINTAINING PROCESS CONTROL CIRCUITS OR SYSTEMS 
36 

PLANNING FOR THE INSTALLATION OF WIRING, APPARATUS AND EQUIPMENT FOR LIGHT, HEAT AND POWER MASTER 

LAYING OUT FOR THE INSTALLATION OF WIRING, APPARATUS, AND EQUIPMENT FOR LIGHT, HEAT AND POWER MASTER 

SUPERVISING THE INSTALLATION OF WIRING APPARATUS AND EQUIPMENT FOR LIGHT, HEAT AND POWER MASTER 

TOTAL OF ALL QUALIFYING HOURS WORKED (MAX 2,000 HOURS PER YEAR)

Form must be signed by the designated Responsible Person and Applicant. I certify that I personally know or that the employer’s 
employment records verify that this individual, during the referenced employment period, engaged in the identified classes of work for 
the number of hours shown. The applicant's signature below acknowledges agreement with the information provided on this form. 

RESPONSIBLE PERSON’S SIGNATURE DATE SIGNED APPLICANT'S SIGNATURE DATE SIGNED 

Electrical Work Experience Verification Form 6.20.2024 

http://www.dli.mn.gov/workers/electrician-or-electrical-installer/licensing-personal-electrical-license
www.dli.mn.gov
mailto:dli.exam@state.mn.us


INSTRUCTIONS
Employer must complete the Work Experience Verification Form. 

READ CAREFULLY BEFORE COMPLETING THIS FORM 

REGISTERED UNLICENSED INDIVIDUAL WORK EXPERIENCE 
Registered unlicensed individuals, as part of renewing their registration, must provide verification of their employment by a 
licensed contractor or registered employer during the registration period.  This form reports the verified hours and is adapted for 
use by unlicensed individuals registered to perform electrical work.   The reason for verifying work hours each year along with 
renewing a registration is so the registered individual does not have to verify these hours when applying for a license 
examination.  Verifying hours annually when renewing a registration enables the department to gradually qualify an individual for 
examination, which makes for quicker approvals. 

• Address information on the form is the unlicensed individual’s mailing address. Updates to the individual’s personal or
mailing address may be noted on the registration renewal form. Address changes may also be made by emailing
dli.license@state.mn.us

• Provide exact dates of employment during the 12-month registration period (expiration date of unlicensed registration card).

Include the month, day, and year.

• Indicate whether the hours reported on the form are taken from payroll records; and if not, specify the other forms of

documentation used to verify the individual’s work experience.

• For each class of work identified, enter the actual hours the individual performed that class of work during the

registration period. (Note: Blanks will be assigned 0 hours.)

• Enter the total number of electrical work hours verified, which may not exceed 2,000 hours.

EMPLOYER INFORMATION (MANDATORY INFORMATION)
• Enter the employer’s business name, address, license or registration number, contact’s phone number, and email

address. (NOTE: License number is mandatory, if business holds contractor license number.)

• Enter the employer’s designated responsible individual’s name and license number.  The individual’s license number must

match what the department has on record as the designated responsible individual and license number.

OUT OF STATE WORK EXPERIENCE 
• Provide exact dates of employment during the 12-month Include the month, day, and year.

• Indicate whether the hours reported on the form are taken from payroll records; and if not, specify the other forms of

documentation used to verify the individual’s work experience, must be verified by an individual/business that is properly licensed to

perform that work in that state..

• For each class of work identified, enter the actual hours the individual performed that class of work during the

registration period. (Note: Blanks will be assigned 0 hours, total number of electrical work hours verified, may not exceed 2,000

hours.)

 If self-employed provide two written statements from either authorized electrical or building inspector or other electrical
contractors conducting business in the same vicinity per Minn. Rule 3800.3520.

Certification Signature and Date
• The employer’s designated responsible individual must certify, with a signature, that the registered unlicensed individual
performed the identified classes of work for the number of hours entered on the form during the 12-month registration period.

• The registered unlicensed individual’s signature on the form acknowledges agreement with the information verified by the

employer.

QUALIFYING FOR A LICENSE EXAMINATION 
Work verification is for the following license classifications, which require a minimum number of months/hours qualifying work 

experience to become licensed. Detailed information on qualifying for a license exam is available at 

http://www.dli.mn.gov/workers/electrician-or-electrical-installer/licensing-personal-electrical-license

License Class Law (Rule) Requirement Minimum Requirements 

Master Class A Electrician 326B.33 (3800.3520) 60 months (10,000 hrs) 12 months experience which 

includes:2 months planning; 2 

months laying out; 2 months 

supervising 

Journeyworker Class A Electrician 326B.33 (3800.3520) 48 months (8,000 hrs) 2 yrs electrical installation 

Maintenance Electrician 326B.33 (3800.3520) 48 months (8,000 hrs) 2 yrs electrical maintenance 

Installer B 326B.33 (3800.3520) 12 months (2,000 hrs) No minimum requirements 

Lineman 326B.33 (3800.3520) 48 months (8,000 hrs) 2 yrs line work 

mailto:dli.license@state.mn.us
http://www.dli.mn.gov/workers/electrician-or-electrical-installer/licensing-personal-electrical-license


Power Limited Technician Work Experience Verification 6.20.2024 

Power Limited Technician 
Work Experience Verification Form 

Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry 
Construction Codes and Licensing Division 
443 Lafayette Road North 
St. Paul, MN 55155

Phone: 651.284.5034 
Email: dli.exam@state.mn.us
Website: www.dli.mn.gov 

PRINT clearly IN INK OR TYPE 
MAKE A COPY OF THIS FORM FOR YOUR RECORDS 

Applicant’s Legal Name: License / Registration Number: (if applicable) SSN:  (Last 4 digits Only) 

To apply for licensure and examination, the applicant must provide verification of their employment and qualifying work. Verification information required 
includes: name, address, and phone number of the employer, applicant s dates of employment with the employer, class of work performed; and hours 
worked. The information provided on this form is public data and shall be used to qualify the individual identified above for licensure and examination.  
Individuals with multiple employers during the reporting period must make copies of the form and have each employer complete a separate 
verification. 
Employer Name License / Registration Number 

Employer Address Telephone 

City State Zip Email Address 

Name of Responsible Person (Power Limited Tech) License Number Title 

Qualifying work experience is measured on a monthly basis. In order to accurately verify qualifying experience, the actual hours worked 
in each Class of Work must be reported. Credit of not more than 160 hours per month or 2000 hours per year is allowed as qualifying 
experience. Hours reported on this form must be supported by records maintained by the employer and demonstrate experience 
qualifying with M.S. §326B.33 and M.S. Rule 3800.3520.  Knowingly providing inaccurate or fraudulent information may subject the 
violator to disciplinary action and a monetary penalty of up to $10,000 per violation. To obtain additional information regarding work 
experience please visit our website at http://www.dli.mn.gov/workers/electrician-or-electrical-installer/licensing-personal-electrical-license 

Complete a SEPARATE work experience form for each year of employment. Are the hours reported on this form 
taken from payroll records? 

YES OTHER (specify) 
Date of Employment: 
Start Date: End Date: 

CLASS OF WORK For Office 
Use Only 

Hours Worked 

WIRING FOR AND INSTALLING TECHNOLOGY CIRCUIT OR SYSTEM WIRING APPARATUS AND 

EQUIPMENT 

32 

MAINTAINING AND REPAIRING TECHNOLOGY CIRCUIT OR SYSTEM WIRING, APPARATUS AND 

EQUIPMENT 

33 

WIRING AND MAINTAINING PROCESS CONTROL CIRCUITS OR SYSTEMS 
36 

PLANNING FOR THE INSTALLATION OF WIRING APPARATUS AND EQUIPMENT FOR TECHNOLOGY 

CIRCUITS OR SYSTEMS 

38 

LAYING OUT FOR THE INSTALLATION OF WIRING, APPARATUS AND EQUIPMENT FOR TECHNOLOGY 

CIRCUITS OR SYSTEMS 

39 

SUPERVISING THE INSTALLATION OF WIRING, APPARATUS AND EQUIPMENT FOR TECHNOLOGY 

CIRCUITS OR SYSTEMS 

40 

TOTAL OF ALL QUALIFYING HOURS WORKED (MAX 2,000 HOURS PER YEAR)

TOTAL OF ALL QUALIFYING HOURS WORKED 36 MONTHS EXPERIENCE REQUIRED TO TAKE EXAM 6,000 HOURS 

Form must be signed by the designated Responsible Person and Applicant.  I certify that I personally know or that the employer s 
employment records verify that this individual, during the referenced employment period, engaged in the identified classes of work for 
the number of hours shown. The applicant s signature below acknowledges agreement with the information provided on this form. 

RESPONSIBLE PERSON’S SIGNATURE DATE SIGNED APPLICANT'S SIGNATURE DATE SIGNED 
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INSTRUCTIONS 
Employer must complete the Work Experience Verification Form. 

READ CAREFULLY BEFORE COMPLETING THIS FORM 

REGISTERED UNLICENSED INDIVIDUAL WORK EXPERIENCE 
Registered unlicensed individuals, as part of renewing their registration, must provide verification of their employment by a 
licensed contractor or registered employer during the registration period. This form reports the verified hours and is adapted for 
use by unlicensed individuals registered to perform electrical work.  The reason for verifying work hours each year along with 
renewing a registration is so the registered individual does not have to verify these hours when applying for a license 
examination. Verifying hours annually when renewing a registration enables the department to gradually qualify an individual for 
examination, which makes for quicker approvals. 

• Address information on the form is the unlicensed individual’s mailing address. Updates to the individual’s personal or
mailing address may be noted on the registration renewal form. Address changes may also be made by emailing
dli.license@state.mn.us

• Provide exact dates of employment during the 12-month registration period (expiration date of unlicensed registration card).

Include the month, day, and year.

• Indicate whether the hours reported on the form are taken from payroll records; and if not, specify the other forms of

documentation used to verify the individual’s work experience.

• For each class of work identified, enter the actual hours the individual performed that class of work during the

registration period. (Note: Blanks will be assigned 0 hours.)

• Enter the total number of electrical work hours verified, which may not exceed 2,000 hours.

EMPLOYER INFORMATION (MANDATORY INFORMATION) 
• Enter the employer’s business name, address, license or registration number, contact’s phone number, and email

address. (NOTE: License number is mandatory, if business holds contractor license number.)

• Enter the employer’s designated responsible individual’s name and license number. The individual’s license number must

match what the department has on record as the designated responsible individual and license number.

OUT OF STATE WORK EXPERIENCE 
• Provide exact dates of employment during the 12-month Include the month, day, and year.

• Indicate whether the hours reported on the form are taken from payroll records; and if not, specify the other forms of

documentation used to verify the individual’s work experience, must be verified by an individual/business that is properly licensed to

perform that work in that state..

• For each class of work identified, enter the actual hours the individual performed that class of work during the

registration period. (Note: Blanks will be assigned 0 hours, total number of electrical work hours verified, may not exceed 2,000

hours.)

 If self-employed provide two written statements from either authorized electrical or building inspector or other electrical
contractors conducting business in the same vicinity per Minn. Rule 3800.3520.

Certification Signature and Date 
• The employer’s designated responsible individual must certify, with a signature, that the registered unlicensed individual
performed the identified classes of work for the number of hours entered on the form during the 12-month registration period.

• The registered unlicensed individual’s signature on the form acknowledges agreement with the information verified by the

employer.

QUALIFYING FOR A LICENSE EXAMINATION 
Work verification is for the following license classifications, which require a minimum number of months/hours qualifying 

work experience to become licensed. Detailed information on qualifying for a license exam is available at 

http://www.dli.mn.gov/workers/electrician-or-electrical-installer/licensing-personal-electrical-license 

License Class Law (Rule) Requirement Minimum Requirements 

Power Limited Technician 326B.33 (3800.3520) 36 Months 6,000 2,000 hours – wiring for and 
installing technology circuit or 
system wiring, apparatus, and 
equipment: 

*A maximum of one year (2,000 hours) of experience credit will be allowed for the successful completion of a two-
year post- high school technical course approved by the department.

mailto:dli.license@state.mn.us
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