Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry Orange bar
Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry

July 14, 2015

Minnesota's new minimum-wage poster is online, law changes Aug. 1, 2015

Minnesota's new minimum-wage poster is now online and ready to download at www.dli.mn.gov/Posters. The poster's minimum-wage rates are in effect from Aug. 1, 2015, to July 31, 2016.

Minnesota law requires employers to display five state-mandated posters in a physical location where employees can easily see them. The minimum-wage poster needs to be updated at Minnesota workplaces. The other four mandated posters have not changed and do not need to be replaced (age discrimination, safety and health on the job, unemployment and workers' compensation).

There is no cost for posters provided by the Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry (DLI). They can be obtained online or ordered from DLI's website. Posters are designed to print on standard 8.5" x 11" paper. DLI will translate the minimum-wage poster into Hmong, Somali and Spanish and add those posters online in early August.

Minnesota's minimum-wage rates will change again in August 2016. The minimum-wage poster will be updated in 2016 to reflect those future rates.

As of Aug. 1, 2015

  • Large employers must pay at least $9 an hour. This applies to any enterprise with an annual gross dollar volume of sales made or business done of $500,000 or more.

  • Small employers must pay at least $7.25 an hour. This applies to any enterprise with an annual gross volume of sales made or business done of less than $500,000.

  • The training wage rate is $7.25 an hour. The rate may be paid to employees younger than 20 years of age for the first 90 consecutive days of employment.

  • The youth wage rate is at least $7.25 an hour. The rate may be paid to employees younger than 18 years of age.

For more information

-###-

News media contact:
James Honerman
(651) 284-5313

DLI home page | Directions and maps | News and media | Website disclaimer